My Transition to WordPress

cropped-logo-banner-black.jpg

Hey guys!

First of all, welcome to my new blog! Whether you’ve been with me for a while or you’ve just stumbled onto my little corner of the Internet, thank you for checking out my blog and making this transition with me. Previously, I hosted a book blog on the Blogger platform. I’ve owned that blog for over a year and a half and I’ve posted book reviews on it fairly regularly. If you’ve visited that blog before, you know that I’ve customized my layout quite a bit over the time that I’ve had it. So why the change to WordPress?

Firstly, my tastes have changed since I first made that blog and I no longer love the template or customizations I made. I unfortunately am not well-versed in HTML by any means and severely struggled trying to find something that looked remotely the way I wanted my blog to look in my head. Often I found that templates didn’t contain all the features they claimed when finding one through search engines and I just didn’t have the drive or energy to try to make a template work and to undo my customizations. If you’ve ever used Blogger before, you’d understand how much work goes into the sidebar, the fonts, the background, the links, and so much more. It’s not easy to strip it down just as it isn’t easy to put together if you are an average computer user. WordPress had a few templates available for free that immediately appealed to me that I knew I could make work for me.

Secondly, I wanted a fresh start. Just as my aesthetic tastes had changed, the way that I wanted to format my reviews changed. I obviously have a standard format that I will still be using since that is almost universal among the book blogging community; however, I’m going to be making more diverse posts than I did before. I used to only post strict book reviews that looked the same for every post. Part of that, if not all of it, is due to me being a perfectionist. I’m trying to branch out and grow out of that a bit with this new blog. I plan to post discussions, make more graphics, show my personality a little more, and be a better blogger.

Thirdly is that I find WordPress to be better with connecting the blogging community. I often found it hard to find other book bloggers using the Blogger platform instead of Googling or hearing a BookTuber mention their blog. I think part of this is due to Blogger not being updated as frequently as WordPress is. Blogger also isn’t always functional on every Internet browser which I think is also due to lack of updating. Some gadgets (widgets) I had to remove from my blog because they would vibrate on the screen in certain browsers. I also liked that WordPress allows me to link my social media accounts easily to inform followers when I’ve made a new post. If Blogger had this option, I certainly didn’t know it or make use of it.

And lastly is that I hate Google+. I’m not sure if anyone outside of the business world really likes it. I hated when I had to make my YouTube account into a Google+ account. I find that nobody truly utilizes it and instead just has an account because they want to watch YouTube videos. Blogger is part of the Google empire. They did still allow users to run their blogs through the Blogger account but some features are only available if you link your Google+ account. No thanks.

I will not be removing my book blog from Blogger. Meganpegasus.blogspot.com will always still be available since I have no plans to transfer old reviews to this platform. I’m also not going to transfer my review archive. The archive on this blog will only be used for posts on this platform. Please follow this blog if you’d like to keep seeing my book reviews. If you’ve just stumbled upon my blog, feel free to check out my old blog to see what my reviews are like and consider supporting this one.

I’ve also recently joined Bloglovin’ and I am in love with the ease and convenience of it. If you are an avid blog reader, I definitely suggest to make an account. It allows you to follow blogs of all platforms and puts them in an easy-to-read format. If you’d like to follow me on Bloglovin’, just tap that button down below and if you want to follow this blog through the site, just tap the button you see in the sidebar.

Thanks for sticking with me through this long post and keep adventuring!

logo_b

Leave a Reply

